top of page

Image by Randy Larcombe


'Whimsically inventive' The Advertiser

Composer/pianist Mark Simeon Ferguson was born in Whyalla, South Australia on Barngala land, raised in Clare on Ngadjuri land and lives in Adelaide on Kaurna land. He is rooted in the jazz tradition but lives in multiple musical worlds. He composes and arranges for organisations such as the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, the SA Primary Schools Festival of Music, The Mike Stewart Big Band, the JazzSA Superbands and his own groups.  In August 2022 he releases his first ABC Jazz Commission 'Where Emus Roam the Streets' which was inspired by the land, the people and stories from the Ikara- Flinders Ranges, on Adnyamathanha country. It features a new quartet with bassist Bonnie Aué, drummer Kyrie Anderson and pianist Ciara Ferguson (heard here on vibraphone) , with guest vocals from Terrence Coulthard and guest trombone from Jasmine Ferguson.

Available Aug 26


Mark Simeon Ferguson - piano  |   Bonnie Aué - double bass  |  Kyrie Anderson - drums

Ciara Ferguson - vibraphone  |  Jasmin Ferguson - trombone  |  Terrence Coulthard - voice

Mark Simeon Ferguson’s Where Emus Roam the Streets is the first jazz release from the 2022 ABC Composer Commissions Fund, created to support new Australian music from emerging and diverse voices. Where Emus Roam the Streets is a lyrical contemporary jazz album inspired by the dramatic vistas, ‘ghost towns’ and extraordinary people of the Ikara-Flinders Ranges on Adnymathanha country. Mark’s connection to the area is through his Aunt Jan and Uncle Chris Ferguson who are deeply connected to the community having lived in Beltana for decades. Through them he met senior Adnymathanha man
Terrence Coulthard — whose ‘Welcome Song’ features on the album.

In preparation for this project, Mark spent days driving, running, walking and sitting in the Northern part of the Ikara-Flinders Ranges between Parachilna and Iga Warta. Where Emus Roam the Streets was inspired by these experiences, alongside extensive research and conversations with members of the community. The album’s nine new pieces explore the beauty and hardship of Adnymathanha country and reflect on the lives of its people, the collision of cultures, and Mark’s own experiences.

The ensemble features young women all starting to hit their stride on the Australian jazz scene: drummer Kyrie Anderson, bassist Bonnie Aué, pianist Ciara Ferguson (heard here on vibraphone) and trombonist Jasmine Ferguson.


All tracks composed by Mark Simeon Ferguson except

for Welcome Song, composed by Terrence Coulthard, arr. Ferguson.

Recorded 7–9 February 2022  at ABC’s Collinswood Studios

Producer :: Tom Henry and Mark Simeon Ferguson

Recorded :: Jakub Gaudasinski and Gabriel Agostino
Mixed :: Tom Henry
Field Recordings :: Mike Ladd

Terrence Coulthard’s voice :: recorded in Iga Warta, South Australia by Mark Simeon Ferguson, 11 July 2022

Cover design :: Bonnie Aué from photos by Mark Simeon Ferguson

All other photos :: Randy Larcombe


Images by Randy Larcombe



Thanks for submitting!

IMG_6919 2.JPG
bottom of page